You get electricity and you get electricity…woops

My 2nd post about combining two of my “hobbies”: EV Enthusiasm, and camping:

Since Ford forbids you from towing the FFE with even a single wheel on the ground I was never able to take it camping–except for one trip where the campground was within the FFE’s range (kind of boring).

The C-Max can be flat towed (we don’t have it setup for that) but that also means you can tow it on a dolly (what looks like the C-Max’s front wheel in this picture is really the dolly’s wheel–the C-Max is parked immediately behind the dolly).

What this also means is I finally get to try out my LCS-20p at a campground. Waaaay back when I first got the FFE I picked up the LCS-20p and made an adapter to work with the 50 amp plugs at campgrounds. (Our only camping trip with the FFE was before I wired up the adapter.)

Once we were all setup (as you see above) with everything plugged in and up and running I dug out the LCS-20p and plugged it in. It flashed all its LEDs as it went through the power on diagnostics and indicated everything was good–yaay that cable I wired up myself was correct.

With the car happily charging we went on with our business. Then about 30-40 minutes later…poof! No power. Uh oh? Was that me? Looking around all the breakers in the camper and out–nope they are all good. Hmmm. Then a neighbor pops their head up: “Do you have power?” “Nope” Wow multiple campsites are down? I don’t think its my cable? The car would not have been drawing much current (the C-Max only has a 3.3 kW charger, unlike the FFE with its 6.6 kW charger now that would have really brought down the system LOL).

A little while later the campground gets the power back up and running: A larger breaker blew for the entire lane we were on–right across the street from us. At this point I’m thinking: Ok it probably wasn’t me charging that caused it with it being a very hot & humid day but it is possible that my car was the little bit that pushed the breaker over the edge. So I decided to forgo any further charging on the car (it got up to 92% anyway more than enough for the weekend).

The next morning as we were getting ready to go out….pop! The breaker blew again. Ah ha! It wasn’t the car (wasn’t plugged in) LOL Knowing what was wrong I waited a few minutes for the breaker to cool, walked over and reset the breaker. A few minutes later a puzzled looking maintenance worker was asking everyone if they had power?? LOL

Now I’m ready for the next C-Max’ing camping trip… šŸ™‚

 

 

You get electricity and you get electricity…woops

3 thoughts on “You get electricity and you get electricity…woops

  1. Hi!

    We are RV campers as well and I have been driving 2 different volts since 2012. We are now thinking of moving to a motorhome and towing an C-Max energi. I was happy to find your blog and I guess if you have any words of wisdom, I’d love to hear them!
    Thanks,

    Tom

    Like

    1. Not many. Go camping and have fun. You can tow the C-Max 4 down. I just use a dolly because my C-Max is a lease and I didn’t want to install the base plate on it (in addition, using a dolly we can tow just about any FWD car).

      -Jamie

      Like

Leave a Reply

